Skip to main content

Local health boards

Welsh flag
The Wales Foundation Programme has placements covering five Health Boards across Wales with our current training sites listed on this map.

Foundation Programme Directors

In addition to the Foundation School team, there are fifteen foundation programme directors (FPDs) based across Wales.

The FPDs responsibility is to ensure that a quality programme is being delivered and that each trainee doctor is adequately supervised throughout their training.

The FPDs are also responsible for assessing each foundation doctor at the end of their F1 and F2 years, and to provide additional support if required.

Aneurin Bevan UHB

Dr Helen Fowles

Dr Ashok Vaghela

Betsi Cadwaladr UHB

Dr Ushan Andrady

Dr Eve Blakemore

Dr Artur Abelian

Cardiff and Vale UHB

Dr Karl Davis (F1)

Mr David Owens (F2)


    Cwm Taf Morgannwg UHB

    Dr Esyld Watson

    Dr Gwilym McMillan

    Dr Sam Fishpool

    Hywel Dda UHB

    Dr Simone Sebastiani

    Dr Antony Varekattu Mathew

    Dr Jonathan Morris

    Dr Jo McCarthy

    Swansea Bay UHB

    Dr Ritu Nirula

    Dr Rhodri Edwards