Skip to main content

Overview of paediatric specialty training years six to eight

Level three training (ST6 - ST8)

Both the north Wales / Mersey and south Wales programmes offer rotations based on the trainee's career aims.

The training programme at ST6-8 provides training opportunities to develop:

  • General paediatric consultants - in smaller acute inpatient units with a level two neonatal unit, with community commitments
  • General paediatric consultants - in acute inpatient units
  • Community paediatric consultants
  • Neonatal consultants- through the national grid process
  • Tertiary specialists- through the national grid process

In addition to general paediatric and community paediatric posts there are posts available in the following subspecialties:

  • Cardiology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Neonatology
  • Nephrology
  • Neurodisability
  • Neurology
  • Oncology
  • Paediatric intensive care
  • Palliative care medicine
  • Respiratory

There is also the option of taking time out of programme for research or overseas placements.